Watch the F1 Austrian Grand Prix with a VPN in 2022

As the Austrian Grand Prix 2022 draws near, fans can watch and enjoy exciting races with a VPN (Virtual Private Network). This is because many broadcasters like Sky Sports F1 and ESPN have strict geo-restrictions. However, you can only be guaranteed the best results when using a reliable VPN service.

Thankfully, we’ve researched the best VPN to watch the Austrian GP 2022, no matter your location. Also, this list of VPNs will work perfectly for other Formula 1 events you might be interested in. The best VPN for Formula 1 races, such as the Austrian Grand Prix, is ExpressVPN.

Get 49% off now

Pick the Best Formula 1 Austrian GP VPN

We’ve made a list of three of the best VPN providers on the market based on their server coverage, unblocking ability, security, privacy, and so on. At Techshielder, we don’t just rate these VPNs based on their hype; we test them out ourselves.

ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN devices

Features

  • Number of servers: More than 3,000
  • Speeds: Unlimited
  • Server locations: 160 in 94 countries
  • Maximum devices supported: 5
  • 24 live chat: Yes
  • 30 day money back guarantee: Yes

Pros/Cons

  • Fastest VPN out there
  • Strict no logs policy
  • 256-bit AES encryption
  • Few discounts
Visit ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN is the best VPN you could choose to watch Formula One with. This provider offers access to over 3000 servers in more than 100 locations, including the UK, United States, Austria, and other areas where the F1 races are held.

These servers are super fast, so you won’t miss key moments in the races. Additionally, ExpressVPN doesn’t have speed or bandwidth caps. So, you can stream every race of the Austrian GP 2022 if you want!

You can use ExpressVPN on popular operating systems such as Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android. A 30-day money-back guarantee backs its subscription plans, while you can have up to five simultaneous connections.

  • Pros: Fastest VPN out there; Strict no logs policy; 256-bit AES encryption;
  • Lowest price: $6.67

Get 49% off now

NordVPN

NordVPN devices

Features

  • Cryptocurrency accepted? Yes
  • Simultaneous connections: 6
  • Dedicated IP-addresses? Yes
  • Servers: 5342 in 58 countries

Pros/Cons

  • Lots of pricing options
  • Netflix support kept up to date
  • 256-bit AES encryption
  • Slow app
Visit NordVPN

Another top-rated VPN that can come in handy for watching the 2022 Austrian GP from any location is NordVPN. This VPN operates more than 5000 servers in over 60 countries, including those in which you can watch F1 programs. In addition, NordVPN can bypass tough geo-restrictions. So, you don’t need to worry about error messages you typically get when you try to watch F1 with a VPN.

NordVPN is compatible with multiple devices, which allows you to watch the Austrian GP and other F1 races conveniently. Furthermore, you can use one account on six devices. Lastly, any subscription plan you choose has a 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Pros: Lots of pricing options; Netflix support kept up to date; 256-bit AES encryption;
  • Lowest price: $3.71

Get 68% off now

Surfshark

Surfshark devices

Features

  • Free trial? Yes
  • Simultaneous connections: Unlimited
  • Ad blocking? Yes
  • Servers: 1000+ in 61 countries

Pros/Cons

  • No footprints
  • Allows torrenting
  • 256-bit AES encryption
  • Not the fastest
Try Surfshark

Surfshark is budget-friendly and excellent for beginners. This provider offers access to more than 3000 fast servers in 60+ locations. Its server coverage guarantees that you’ll always find a server that can seamlessly unblock the Austrian GP or other events. 

This VPN works excellently on all devices. One of the best things about Surfshark is that it supports unlimited simultaneous connections. You also get a 30-day money-back guarantee on your subscription.

  • Pros: No footprints; Allows torrenting; 256-bit AES encryption;
  • Lowest Price: €2.09

Get 81% off now

All About the Austrian GP 2022

With an exciting and eventful British Grand Prix over, all eyes are shifting from Silverstone to the quaint town of Speilberg, which plays host to the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix. The thrill and glamor of Formula One are set to be on full display on Sunday, July 10th. However, fans can also keep up with two days of practice races, sprints, and qualifiers at the Red Bull Ring on the 8th and 9th of July.

Attention will be on British GP winner Carlos Sainz, along with Max Verstappen, and the iconic Lewis Hamilton for what is expected to be a memorable competition. As Max Verstappen dominated at the Red Bull Ring last year to clinch a win, there are speculations about the possibility of the Dutch driver winning it for the second time in a row.

Here is the schedule of the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix:

  • Practice 1

Friday, July 8th, 2022, 7:30 AM ET/ 6:30 AM CT/ 5:30 AM MT/ 4:30 AM PT

  • Qualifying

Friday, July 8th, 2022, 11:00 AM ET/ 10:00 AM CT/ 9:00 AM MT/ 8:00 AM PT

  • Practice 2

Saturday, July 9th, 2022, 6:30 AM ET/ 5:30 AM CT/ 4:30 AM MT/ 3:30 AM PT

  • Sprint Qualifying

Saturday, July 9th, 2022, 10:30 AM ET/ 9:30 AM CT/ 8:30 AM MT/ 7:30 AM PT

  • Grand Prix Race

Sunday, July 10th, 2022, 9:00 AM ET/ 8:00 AM CT/ 7:00 AM MT/ 6:00 AM PT

Watching F1 with a VPN

Typically, you will need to subscribe to online sports streaming platforms or paid TV services to watch Formula 1 events like the Austrian GP, Bahrain GP, Monaco GP, Spanish GP, British GP, and so on. Even with subscriptions and payments, access is still restricted based on location.

However, the trick to avoid these restrictions is using a VPN. A VPN allows one to connect to secure virtual servers in multiple locations worldwide. This connection spoofs your IP address to make it appear like you are elsewhere. So, a VPN allows you to watch live F1 races or highlights on platforms like RTBF, ServusTV, ABC, ESPN, ESPN 2, Sky Sports F1, and more.

Using a Free VPN to Watch F1

Free VPNs allow users to enjoy all the benefits of a VPN at no cost. You can connect to servers and stream conveniently.

However, there are also downsides to using a free VPN to watch F1. For example, some services tend to log user data and sell it to pay their service bills. Additionally, most free VPNs have limited server access which may not be able to bypass the geo-blocks. Other issues include overcrowding and bandwidth caps.

We recommend you only use premium VPN services to stream F1 races. However, if you must use a freebie, you are better off taking advantage of free trials or money-back guarantees. Free VPNs are helpful, but you must be cautious about using one.

Conclusion

So, there you have it! A VPN is the best way to watch F1, and with the Austrian GP starting soon, you wouldn’t want to miss out on all the action. All you need to stay connected is a top-tier VPN service.

We’ve highlighted a few of the best choices. However, the best VPN provider for F1 is ExpressVPN. It is reliable, fast, safe, and private. In addition, it offers a variety of subscription plans and great bonuses. So, subscribe today and get ready to stream amazing races!